:: The Cooking Mamas ::

No, this is not the game in your iPhone but a group of Singaporean and Malaysian moms and grandma in Shanghai that bond through the love of cooking.

When you’re around Singaporeans, food and shopping will top any conversation. Never lack of the best and latest information about everything. Beautiful, intelligent and resourceful, these are some my lovely friends in Shanghai. I am so blessed to have them in my life! Thank you lovelies!

Thriving for more than a regular coffee and chatting session, we decided to share recipes and most of all our love for food in our fortnightly cooking session that takes place at my home on Tuesdays.

For a food dummy like me, they are like god-sent. My family now has more options than fried eggs and salads. I’ve learnt to make chicken rice, tiramisu, roast pork and other amazing food.

Wondering why there are so many personal posts this week? We are returning to Singapore in August so I want to thank all my special friends that made my Shanghai stay so wonderful.

Here are just some of the delicacies that we made. We are usually so busy cooking that we forgot to take pictures!

cooking mamas in action!

Tuna with pineapple

Roast pork

Mua-chee or peanut mochi

Ondeh ondeh

Claypot yam

Nine layer cake

Curry puffs

Tiramisu

Apple and blueberry crumble

Aren’t these food amazing? Any of the recipes above that you would like me to share? I’d share the one that has the most requests!

Comments
4 Responses to “:: The Cooking Mamas ::”
  1. cheyannewong says:

    So fun!! You should start one in Singapore when you’re back.. I’ll come by once a month to learn cooking! hahahahahah!!

  2. angie says:

    Aw, Gisele! We are going to miss you so much. Shanghai will not be the same without your beautiful presence. I’m finding reasons to lure you back as soon as possible. And you are not a food dummy – you are a fantastic, talented cook. My waistline can attest to it. 🙂

  3. teresa says:

    Hi Dear…you may often think your dishes are simple but they are down to earth and do justice to the ingredients you use !
    Remember your beef stew? You even bought an authentic Japanese wine to cook it.

    This post is great as whenever I miss the time we spent together, I will keep coming back to this post !

    • Gisele says:

      Thanks for all the nice comments! I love the fact that all the dishes has a story to tell and a reminder of all the good times we had!

Leave a Reply

