:: Shanghai :: Fresh Red Dates ::

Have you seen fresh red dates before?
For more than thirty years, I never knew they look like this when they are fresh!

My nice Shanghainese neighbor brought me these bright looking fruits the other day and I was stunned when they told me that they were red dates!

They tasted like very very crunchy apples, juicy and extremely sweet! The texture is finer than apples and they are actually very tasty! It’s definitely very different from the wrinkly brown mushy red dates that I’ve known.

Chinese believe that dates has medicinal values and it nourishes the body if taken regularly, in fresh or dried form commonly found in soups.

Inside of the red dates.

Fresh red dates!

Have you had any dates lately?

Gisele

Comments
2 Responses to “:: Shanghai :: Fresh Red Dates ::”
  1. Cheyanne says:

    Nooooooo…. I hate dates!!! Closest to “eating” them is adding them to my soups!!! But fresh dates, definitely never seen before!!! I described them to be so delectable , i may just try them SOMEDAY!!!
    Thanks for the info!!

  2. Cheyanne says:

    Sorry… Typo… “You” not “i” there…. Heheheh….

Leave a Reply

